Menu

For those of us who've been pushing the boundaries of what constitutes a "sample" at the Loleta Cheese Factory — skewering cube after creamy cube while patient cashiers restock — the recent addition of the Queso Kings grilled cheese bar is a revelation.

With new owner chef Robert Stokes at the helm, the tiny town's beloved cheddars, havartis and fontinas are paired up with everything from lamb to brisket to honey, and grilled to buttery, melting perfection right in the shop.

click to enlarge AMY KUMLER
  • Amy Kumler

Will it be the Mardi Gras? The Sweet Baby Cheesus? Grilled nuggets of mac and cheese? If you're overwhelmed by choices, you can't go wrong with the Smokin' Pig with Havarti, pulled pork, apples and chipotle on whole wheat. And if you've got a grilled cheese fantasy, make it come true by building your own sandwich of up to three cheeses on sourdough, wheat, buttermilk or marble rye.

Queso Kings Grilled Cheese Bar 252 Loleta Drive, Loleta, (707) 733-5470
Wednesday & Thursday | 7 am - 3 pm
Friday - Monday | 7 am - 5 pm
Closed Tuesday

Pin It
Favorite

Related Locations

Speaking of...

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Casual

About The Author

Jennifer Fumiko Cahill

Jennifer Fumiko Cahill

Bio:
Jennifer Fumiko Cahill is the arts and features editor of the North Coast Journal.

more from the author

The Great KEET Auction

The Great KEET Auction @ KEET TV

Mon., March 18, 9-12 a.m., Tue., March 19, 9-12 a.m., Wed., March 20, 9-12 a.m., Thu., March 21, 9-12 a.m., Fri., March 22, 9-12 a.m., Sat., March 23, 9-12 a.m., Sun., March 24, 9-12 a.m., Mon., March 25, 9-12 a.m., Tue., March 26, 9-12 a.m., Wed., March 27, 9-12 a.m., Thu., March 28, 9-12 a.m., Fri., March 29, 9-12 a.m., Sat., March 30, 9-12 a.m. and Sun., March 31, 9-12 a.m.

© 2019 Humboldt Insider

Website powered by Foundation